How the Cookie Crumbles

Life in the fast and slow lanes after SIXTY-FIVE

Hear, Hear

8 Comments


I love going to the movies but that Dolby sound is deafening; decibles louder than I need. My hearing isn’t what it used to be yet it’s still too intense. Even sitting at the highest level doesn’t make any difference to how earsplitting I find it. Maybe it’s geared to the youngsters already half-deaf from listening to all their loud music. Do movie makers assume they’re giving us the ultimate experience or that we’re ALL hard of hearing and they’re doing us a favour, especially the seniors? I wonder if they are doing harm?If I had dentures, they would have cracked by now. Somehow I manage to acclimate by the time the previews are over and I don’t think about the volume as I get lost in the movie but I DO get somewhat light headed.

Blast them out of their seats!

Keep ’em awake!

Make them pay attention!

Nobody pays to see a movie and then falls asleep, right? Actually, yes. I have a friend who does and has for a long time. She’s even ten years younger than I am. Yeah. She can’t explain it either. To my way of thinking you’d have to suffer from narcolepsy or be dead to be found unconcious at the movies but she doesn’t and isn’t. I wonder if anything’s really wrong and needs testing. She doesn’t think so.

In the old days, theatres accommodated a bigger audience in ONE large screening room with a bonus second film. Nowadays they’re built to show say 10 movies in separate bingo card-sized screening rooms presenting ONE movie only; no second feature. And now you get to watch commercials too just like at home. Whoopee, I’m sure glad I’m getting my money’s worth.

I don’t go to the movies as often as I would like but if I did, I’m sure I’d be stone deaf by now. Already, I don’t understand ‘s’  and ‘sh’ sounds on the telephone. Usually I punch the speaker button to make sure I don’t miss anything or embarass myself like I used to before we had that high tech capability. What? Aye? Could you please repeat that? Uaah?

My daughter laughs when I misunderstand her. SHE thinks it’s funny. My seven-year-old granddaughter doesn’t like repeating herself and gives me a funny look. Actually, I’m not really that bad but mostly have trouble hearing if the television or radio are on at the same time as someone’s talking (or the kids are bouncing off the walls and being noisy and rambuctious). I wonder if that means I’m also losing my ability for multi-tasking the way I once could. I hope not.

Lately, I’ve become aware that I like people to face me while speaking. No, I don’t read lips—yet. My daughter tells me her aged, half-blind poodle is deaf. Either that’s true or she has selective hearing. The dog seems to understand just fine when I ask her, “Shania, wanna go peepee?”

Of course she’s looking right at me when I ask her. If she’s in fact deaf, than how come she can read lips and I can’t? We’re about the same age.

Author: Let's CUT the Crap!

I'm getting a little LONG in the tooth and have things to say about---ouch---AGEing. I believe it's certainly a state of mind but sometimes it's nice to hear that you're NORMAL. I enjoy reading by the truckload. I'm a grandma but I don't feel OLD although I'm not so young anymore. My plan is to stick it out as long as I can on this lovely planet and only will leave it kicking and screaming!

8 thoughts on “Hear, Hear

  1. My husband has some hearing loss. I am so used to repeating myself, I find myself saying EVERYTHING TWICE, even at work. I am so used to repeating myself, I find myself saying EVERYTHING TWICE, even at work.

    Like

  2. I went to see a movie a few months back and totally agree with you that the sound just about blew me out of my seat. But I seemed to be the only person in the theatre that was bothered by it…the movie was True Grit, and even the shooting guns were so loud and sounded so close that I thought at one time that I had been shot!
    My late husband experienced hearing loss at a fairly early age and ended up with two hearing aids at the age of fifty-two. It was so nice once he finally admitted that he couldn’t hear and sought relief–I was able to stop shouting my words at him–but then of course he started telling me that I had the television on too loud!
    Good luck with the lip reading!

    Like

    • You’re soooo FUNny. My daughter with her family live UPstairs and she tells me I sometimes have the TV on too loud at night. I say it’s because the sound is tinny and I need more base. It’s not my fault; it’s the TVs. I’ll have a talk with the dog for some tips. Thanks so much for responding. I appreciate remarks / discussion of any kind. Tess

      Like

  3. You have a dog called Shania??/ BLASPHEMY!!!!!!!

    Like

  4. Hear, hear! I actually carry earplugs everywhere I go. I always use them in movie theatres, often at live shows, and occasionally at the pub if it gets too loud. Contrary to what you might think, they actually make it easier to hear the conversation of the people sitting close to me.

    I’ve gotten a few odd looks, but I wear my hair long, so people generally don’t notice that it looks like I have bright-yellow mini-marshmallows crammed in my ears. 🙂

    Like

Some things in life are complicated. Let's keep it simple.

