How the Cookie Crumbles

Life in the fast and slow lanes after SIXTY-FIVE

Makeup Graveyard

7 Comments


WE all buy it. Tons of it. There are always new promises. New and improved products. There’s magic to be had and darn it, I’m going to get me some! All I have to do is open up my wallet. Go to another presentation. Talk to another female friend who has found the fountain of youth. She swears by it. “It’s a miracle,” she says. “You gotta try it. My face has never felt so smooth or dewy.”

Before my eyes the results are even better than any commercial or promise. For about two weeks.

Over time, I have ended up with baskets full of beauty products which might work for some ONE but not for me. Not anymore.

The last one I’d gone to was a Mary Kay home makeup party in the seventies. It was expensive, was a lot of work but seemed to be working. But not as well as it supposedly had for Mary Kay. Maybe my skin wasn’t old enough yet. I’m sure I must have had the wrong kind of skin. The magic didn’t even last until I finished my whole program of products.

Probably not at a house party but somehow I heard about Clinique. Everything was well and good, but this too fell flat not too long into our cozy liaison. Then there was Estee Lauder and so on.

Recently, I attended an ARBONNE home makeup party. Once again I was mesmerized by promises of the purity of the product: no byproducts, plant based, no mineral oil(s) to clog up your skin etc. The word Switzerland also evoked a kind of alluring promise. I had dared to mention to the consultant that I had, (as did we all most likely), a makeup graveyard underneath my bathroom sink. I wished that manufacturers made smaller sizes for the newly initiated. She told me there is a 45-day money back guarantee with this product. That’s a good start. I think, but I’ll have to wait and see. How many people actually go to the trouble to return products?

http://makeup.lovetoknow.com/Arbonne_Cosmetics

I try to believe that someday I’ll be truly happy with a product that’s doing a reasonable job. Are the manufacturers not keeping up with my skin’s age when it is time? I found products to be more agreeable before the anti-wrinkle formulations as they do not agree with me. My skin thinks it’s wrinkle cream.

What I want to know, as I follow all the different promises to the fountain of youth, is why do they seem to poop out so soon? Usually you’re expected to see results within 30 days. I’ve tried that too but the magic soon fizzles out. I’ve never tried to look impossibly youthful as time marches on. I just want to feel good about myself.

So to sum up. Will I be yet again disappointed? Maybe. Will I stop spending big bucks to look soft and dewy? Not likely. Why is it that I can’t bring myself to throw out all those half-full containers of past due wizardry from underneath my sink? OK, so I’ve taken a stab at it but still tend to hang on to some of it anyway. What will it take to bring in that bulldozer?

Other Reasons for the Graveyard

I have another beef. Over the years, I have fallen in love with certain beauty products that I LIKE. Take lipstick shades, for instance. I’ve also liked after shower sprays by Jean Nate and Calgon. I have been using some products faithfully for years. Suddenly, the colour is changed just enough not to be agreeable anymore. Or it’s been removed altogether. Something I’ve liked has had its formulation changed. A product has been replaced with a new, better invention but doesn’t work as well as the original. I’m still talking about ME.

I’m out in the cold, again, without prior warning. What’s with all that? Didn’t it used to be that the customer mattered? I don’t think I like being told what is good for me.

Author: Let's CUT the Crap!

I'm getting a little LONG in the tooth and have things to say about---ouch---AGEing. I believe it's certainly a state of mind but sometimes it's nice to hear that you're NORMAL. I enjoy reading by the truckload. I'm a grandma but I don't feel OLD although I'm not so young anymore. My plan is to stick it out as long as I can on this lovely planet and only will leave it kicking and screaming!

7 thoughts on “Makeup Graveyard

  1. Oh, I’m so there. I think it is because after a while with a product, I realize I look pretty much the same, and so I start looking for something new. I don’t want to look the same. I want to look BETTER than the same.

    Like

  2. I bought some products in Bratislava, lets see what Slovakia has in store for my skin.

    Like

  3. You’re never too old to believe in magic. Using those wrinkle creams never makes my wrinkles disappear but it works wonderfully on my money. Lots of it has disappeared since I started.

    Like

  4. I know this reply is several months after your post but I had to comment.

    Have you been in my house? You must have, because I too have a makeup graveyard. In fact, I have several. AND I’ve done MaryKay–in fact, I still have their products (and I must say I love the makeup). I also like getting make-overs. I’m such a girl.

    I love cars and mechanical stuff, so I guess that rounds it out. 🙂

    Like

    • Hey, I’m always open to opinions. Love that you picked that one to respond to. Makeup never gets old unless it’s in the Makeup Graveyard. LOL. So much ‘eye’ candy because no makeup of any kind lasts to please us long enough. Why is that? So unfair dollar-wise. We are always trying the’ next latest best’ thing and they all LIE to us. Can we start a movement to complain and beat THEM back if we threaten not to buy because…..I’ve wondered this many times. Frankly, even no additive, so-called natural products don’t do it either. I tried a Swiss natural etc. etc. I paid $68.00 for “primer” type cream but my makeup didn’t like it. URGH. Love hearing from you. New / other opinions are food for thought.

      Like

Some things in life are complicated. Let's keep it simple.

