How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

Great Seats

Leave a comment


“Let’s go to the th-ea-ta tonight.
You wear your best suit and I’ll wear my new wig.”

As the orchestra was tuning up, the audience was filling seats in the theatre. Eau de cologne and perfume filled the air. Occasionally, there was a hint of eau de mothballs. Might’ve been the best suit.

The musicians were many; the music engrossing. A music lover sitting on my daughter’s left was alone. He kept falling asleep until a drum roll woke him up. Or maybe it was a clash of cymbals. Could have been the sudden crash of discordant phrasing. The rest of the audience was attentive, admiring and amazed by the Philharmonic Orchestra last night.

The conductor, dressed in grey tails, looked deceivingly young. He was most energetic and very passionate. I learned a couple of things that had nothing to do with his musical ability. I could see he had buns of steel; perfectly rounded. He wore briefs and not boxers. Their outline was obvious. At least to me.

Seems I haven’t lost my eye for such things. I don’t just wear glasses to see. Some things I see extraordinarily well. Yes, of course we had great seats. How else could I pick up such detail? And at my age. I had no idea good music could still move me so. Did I mention he was most energetic? Kept me awake no problem. I liked the music too. It was mostly by Ravel whose music I am not that familiar with except for Bolero. That goes for a lot of the general population too, I believe.

Some NEW things I learned last night:

You really can teach an old dog new tricks.

That my daughter was bang on planning this wonderful surprise birthday dinner and theatre outing for me (just us two).

I had no idea she was so in tune, that she actually knew what would make me happy.

I can’t believe my daughter enjoyed the Philharmonic as much as I did.

After the theatre, she’d planned to take me to a Jazz Club I’ve been meaning to check out for years. We were too late. It was no more.

She’d made several alternate plans for after the theatre (I’d no idea she could prepare so well). We settled for Coffee Culture. It was most delightful and new to me.

Last night was the best date I have ever had. Yes. I mean EVER.

My daughter told me to bring a coat because I would need it. Thank goodness I listened to her. It got to be freezing out.

How blessed I am that my daughter turned out so well.

Orchestra conductors are not just smart musicians, they also have cute buns.

There may be snow on the mountain (well here and there) but there’s still fire down below.

I’m not feeling older, I’m feeling younger in spite of another birthday.

Author: Let's CUT the Crap!

I'm getting a little LONG in the tooth and have things to say about---ouch---AGEing. I believe it's certainly a state of mind but sometimes it's nice to hear that you're NORMAL. I enjoy reading by the truckload. I'm a grandma but I don't feel OLD although I'm not so young anymore. My plan is to stick it out as long as I can on this lovely planet and only will leave it kicking and screaming!

Some things in life are complicated. Let's keep it simple.

