How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

Is There An App for That?

4 Comments


I LOVE my cordless phone. When I’m on the phone, I usually pace trying to get in my 10,000 steps for the day (chortle, chuckle, cackle). The more phone calls I get or make provides me with the most exercise. When I first got that phone, I tended to misplace it (and still do) in any number of weird places around the house. I soon learned to go to home base, push the locator button which caused the phone to beep and flash until I found it and turned it off. What’s not to love, right?

I take off my glasses all the time. I put them down and wander away. Because this mostly happens at home (in familiar territory) it takes me a couple of minutes to realize I can’t see properly. Then I try backtracking to find them but I can’t see well enough without them so I can’t. Why do I continually take them off in the first place?

Not only do I need my glasses to find them but I also need them to see period and to hear better when someone is talking to me. It would be nice not to waste so much time looking. Of course, I could use one of those glasses-on-a chain hung around my neck but nah, I’m just not ready for that yet. Why don’t they have an app for that? For finding my glasses? Surely that can’t be so hard to do.

Recently, I took the jacket off a new book I wanted to stick my nose into.  I then put the book down, forgot about it and couldn’t find it anywhere a few minutes later. There it was finally, on my dining-room table, a black covered book placed on a black binder. No wonder I didn’t recognize it. A thought flashed through my mind. Don’t I have a remote for that? I can sure be a tad silly but I’ve no control over what my mind wants to conjure up in a moment of desperation.

While I sat scribbling these ideas, my handwriting was so bad because over the years it’s turned to chicken scratch. I had lots of things crossed out, inserted; all the goobly gook before the cleaned up and finished copy.

I’m in the habit of forgetting I’m not at my keyboard. My finger itches to do what its been trained to do: to highlight and press the DELETE key. Whoops, can’t do that on a writing pad.

I find it amazing how quickly and totally I’ve become so dependent on a quick technical resolution: a remote for this and a remote for that, a button on my keyboard or the remote to start my car, or open and close the doors and so on.

I keep hearing this new phrase everywhere, “Is there an app for that?” or “There IS an app for that.” I don’t have an iphone or an ipad but I wonder if there will be an app for finding things I put down and can’t see for looking.

There’s a STAPLES commercial that comes to mind. I haven’t seen it for some time but they advertise their EASY button. It’s a big RED tabletop button (the size of an upended round cereal bowl) with the word EASY printed on the top. Shopping at Staples and finding what you want is as easy as pressing that button.

I could use one of those unless there is an app for that already and I haven’t heard about it yet. Couldn’t we all at one time or another?

Author: Let's CUT the Crap!

I'm getting a little LONG in the tooth and have things to say about---ouch---AGEing. I believe it's certainly a state of mind but sometimes it's nice to hear that you're NORMAL. I enjoy reading by the truckload. I'm a grandma but I don't feel OLD although I'm not so young anymore. My plan is to stick it out as long as I can on this lovely planet and only will leave it kicking and screaming!

4 thoughts on “Is There An App for That?

  1. My brother used to have a keychain that would beep when you started to whistle. He loses his keys a lot, so it sounded like a perfect solution. That is, until they found out it responded to his wife’s voice as well. All the time.

    Like

  2. I think your glasses should automatically sense when they are not on your face, and beep before you even know they’re missing.

    Like

Some things in life are complicated. Let's keep it simple.

