How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

A Waste of Valuable Time

10 Comments


It finally happened. I blew it. I wasn’t careful enough. It’s amazing how one wrong move, one move in haste, one supposition can make such a mess of a day. Like mine this morning.

Yesterday, I opened what I assumed was a legitimate e-mail from a friend I trusted. All I saw (my first name) Click to View Photo.  It looked like a hotlink. There was no note, no description by sender. I should have been suspicious at least a little bit.

Suddenly I was presented with a choice of three gifts: an iphone, an ipad and I can’t recall the third. One of these could be mine. My eyes were popping out of my head. I started entering my e-mail address but stopped short, overcome with reluctance to enter my shipping address. This had to be a scam. Upon trying to close the e-mail, I was met with resistance. It wouldn’t close. Too late. Immediately I could see a half dozen Postmaster Delivery Status Notifications popping up in my Inbox. Whoa.

I had to just shut down everything. Later in the day I went back in again and started receiving complaints from friends that they couldn’t open the (their first name) Click to View Photo hotlink.  My computer guy also dropped me a line warning that this was Malware which probably infected my address book and sent a copy of the malicious e-mail to all my contacts. It could ruin my e-mail and cause the loss of my account, he said.

Yesiree. He was right. I DID indeed lose my account. Temporarily. It took several hours before I finally had everything straightened out. What a nuisance and a waste of valuable time. The biggest problem was that I couldn’t remember the password for my alternate address(es). The blocked account is the one I use all the time and I couldn’t for the life of me find any information in my files to help me remember. I couldn’t get in no how. I caved and called Customer Support.

I’m embarrassed I got caught so easily. I was sweating buckets like nobody’s business. It felt like my account was gone forever.

Just passing along to keep us on our toes. Should this happen to you, you will notice in the subject line:

Hi + a number             OR                   Hii + a number. Do not open. Delete.

Author: Let's CUT the Crap!

I'm getting a little LONG in the tooth and have things to say about---ouch---AGEing. I believe it's certainly a state of mind but sometimes it's nice to hear that you're NORMAL. I enjoy reading by the truckload. I'm a grandma but I don't feel OLD although I'm not so young anymore. My plan is to stick it out as long as I can on this lovely planet and only will leave it kicking and screaming!

10 thoughts on “A Waste of Valuable Time

  1. Sounds like something my mother in law would do. 🙂 Seriously, it’s easily done. Glad you’re back up and running now!

    Like

  2. I confess to being mystified why people are so mischevious or malicious and cunning too. Someone commented on a post on my blog and it all appeared legitimate. Several days later they sent me a well disguised email and when I looked at it it somehow opened up my inbox to loads of junk offers I didn’t want. Luckily it didn’t do any damage and the spam filter caught the next batch and thankfully they seem to have stopped now. It seems that you have got to be forever on your guard!

    Like

  3. Thanks for sharing. We should all be on the lookout for these scams.

    Like

  4. What is so depressing is that people who have skills and persistence turn to this sort of activity. They are clearly lacking any form of empathy and this is encouraged by the impersonal nature of the internet. It brings the pleasure of blogging and the pain of e-crooks. Sometimes i think we should just shut the whole thing down and let them go back to robbing banks or whatever they did before but then I find an entertaining blog like this and it’s all worth it.

    Like

    • It boggles the mind, you’re right. Maybe what they need is something worthwhile to do with their time like GET A JOB! BTW even though I have my e-mail back, now my printer and computer don’t talk to each other. I’m truly frazzled. Went to computer store and was told the Malware may be the culprit and I’ve got homework to print (nightschool).

      Thanks so much for your shoulder to blubber on.

      Like

  5. These things are getting more pervasive. We just need to question everything, unfortunately. We had an issue a few years ago, but have been able to stay away since. Hope it all gets straightened out for you and these malware programmers get a life.

    Like

Some things in life are complicated. Let's keep it simple.

