How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

Let Me Count the Ways

20 Comments


Some days it just doesn’t pay to get out of bed. This morning was one of them. There’s a certain order to my day usually. I start out by reading our skinny local newspaper. It’s what I’ve been doing for six or seven years with breakfast and the habit is hard to kick. In all that time, I’ve actually missed receiving my paper only once. The other two times, well . . .

I ran up the stairs to the front door. No paper. I looked to the right of the stairs and then to the left. We haven’t any snow so it wasn’t buried. I called out to my daughter to check her bathroom. Nothing. I called the newspaper. It’s all automated now. After I punched in my phone number and then my house number as directed, a mechanical voice informed me that another paper would be out to me later the same day. It arrived in less than half an hour!

I didn’t know what to do with myself while waiting. Having this extra time at the wrong time of day didn’t suit me. It upset my schedule. I couldn’t even eat breakfast without my paper—I was out of sorts.

Why do I mention my daughter and son-in-law?  We’re all in the same house. I live in the granny suite down stairs. Since I have only one daughter this is a win / win situation for both parties. For the most part. As least so far.

My only child, a daughter, was gone from home. I’d hosted ESL students but quit after ten long years. It was a waste of money living in that big house all by myself. The property taxes alone were making me cringe once I’d been retired two years.

I thought it was a good idea if both my daughter and her husband and I sell our houses and buy one for all of us? Bear with me here. This was her inheritance, only earlier than usual. It was also about my golden years. Get the kids used to having me around and when the time came that I needed help, well, I’d be handy and so would they. Right? Sort of.  It’s a good thing I’m patient. I know they are a busy young family but what’s convenient for me is sometimes the opposite for them. Like the newspaper this morning.

After lunch I went upstairs to babysit my four-year-old granddaughter. She took one look at me, ran down the hall and came back with today’s paper in its plastic bag, “You forgot your newspaper,” she scolded.

“Where did you find it?” I asked stunned. (I’d forgotten…?)

“It was in my bathroom,” she informed me dramatically, handing over the paper like the miss-know-it-all  she is.

Sometimes my son-in-law likes to check out the paper before he leaves for work. It seems in his hurry to get out the door, he used the other bathroom (today) and forgot that it’s my paper and that I’d be looking forward to reading it. With breakfast. Same as the last three years. Like the weekly flyers he forgets to save for me instead of trashing when he’s finished. Also weekly.

Luckily the day got better as it went along.

Author: Let's CUT the Crap!

I'm getting a little LONG in the tooth and have things to say about---ouch---AGEing. I believe it's certainly a state of mind but sometimes it's nice to hear that you're NORMAL. I enjoy reading by the truckload. I'm a grandma but I don't feel OLD although I'm not so young anymore. My plan is to stick it out as long as I can on this lovely planet and only will leave it kicking and screaming!

20 thoughts on “Let Me Count the Ways

  1. Don’t know that it would help in your situation, but when my grown son, his wife, and two grandchildren lived with my husband and me, (and our younger son), we had a similar problem. Finally getting to the end of my growing frustration, I solved the problem. I called the local paper and had them deliver TWO papers every day to the same house. Yes, it was a waste of money, but it DID solve the problem. Mostly. 🙂

    Like

    • Ha ha ha. That’s a GOOD solution but it’s not just the papers. They are so focused on where their day takes them, I’m last in line for attention but then, aren’t most parents? What happened to don’t bit the hand that feeds you. I appreciate your commenting. Love to hear from everyone.

      Like

  2. lol. I hope your son-in-law wasn’t in the dog house for too long. I’m guessing this arrangement has a few bugs to work out. Angie

    Like

  3. Bravo that you can live with your daughter and her growing family. I hope that goes well for you as the years roll by. Enjoy always, T

    Like

  4. Morning habits. I’m absolutely lost if my routine is compromised. I wander like the horseman without his head.

    Like

  5. Love this. I don’t want anyone else reading my newspaper before I can get to it and God help the soul that tosses out the flyers!

    Like

    • You got that right! Certain things can only get my attention at certain times of the day and anyway, like I mentioned, I’m used to reading the paper first thing. Later, I won’t have time because other things need my attention. What’s so hard to understand? Right?

      Thanks for taking the time to comment.

      Like

  6. I said “ut oh”. when I got to the end. This was funny. I’m glad your day got better.

    Like

  7. Great…so now I find out that your kids NEVER stop stealing your stuff out from under you. I had such hope for the future….

    Like

  8. I’m a stickler for routine, too. And if something goes awry, I’m too sleepy in the mornings to figure out what to do next!

    Like

    • Wait another twenty years and you’ll find yourself muttering not just inside your head but out LOUD if if you’re alone. It only gets MORE irritating and confusing the older you get. Something like a three year old response. Love your blog.

      Like

  9. You sound like one smart cookie for planning ahead. I guess I better start laying down the groundwork on my end. Thanks for the post. Loved it. Reality (not the t.v. kind) can be so much fun.

    Like

    • Things change with the years. I can’t speak to having more than one child. My situation would be more complicated if I had more than one daughter / child because jealousy might rear it’s ugly head. Basically, the house is my daughter’s (and her family’s) NOW—an early inheritance but it’s a win/win situation.

      I appreciate your “like” clicking and your taking the time to comment. I’ve checked out your blog. It’s quite interesting.

      Like

      • Thanks. I hope I don’t scare you off when you read more. You don’t seemed easily scared though. My posts have been pretty light lately as I play catch up. Hope you keep stopping in from time to time.

        Like

Some things in life are complicated. Let's keep it simple.

