How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

Saturday Centus: Nightmare

25 Comments


Congratulations to Jenny Matlock. It’s Saturday Centus –  Centennial Celebration. Check it out at:  http://jennymatlock.blogspot.ca/2012_03_01_archive.html

The prompt this week is the whole first paragraph.

~*~

My untied shoelace changed my life. As I leaned down to re-tie it, I kicked away a few leaves. When I turned my head slightly to look where the leaves had been, I was astonished to see a rubber-banded wad of hundred dollar bills nestled in a little indention in the muddy ground.

Temptation is a wicked bitch. My right hand grabbed the bills. I ran like a rabbit.

Nightmares followed. Whose money was it? I called the police.

“You found money? Where? When?

“A week ago while jogging in Dundurn Park.”

“Why call now?”

“It’s the right thing to do.” I lied.

*

Days later, the phone rang. “We need to talk.”

 “Who was your accomplice?”

“What? No! I found it.” Sweat slithered down my back.

“This is marked ransom money, Boyo.”

Fear clutched my throat. “I had nothing to do with it…”

“…With what?”

My luck just changed. Again.

“Please….”

Author: Let's CUT the Crap!

I'm getting a little LONG in the tooth and have things to say about---ouch---AGEing. I believe it's certainly a state of mind but sometimes it's nice to hear that you're NORMAL. I enjoy reading by the truckload. I'm a grandma but I don't feel OLD although I'm not so young anymore. My plan is to stick it out as long as I can on this lovely planet and only will leave it kicking and screaming!

25 thoughts on “Saturday Centus: Nightmare

  1. Oh boy!!
    Not good – for him!
    But the story was great 😉

    Like

  2. No good deed goes unpunished.

    Like

  3. Snagged by the Greens. Huckled by the Blues 🙂
    Enjoyed the read.

    Like

    • Thanks for dropping by. I’m glad you enjoyed Nightmare. When we were little there was a little saying: Blue and green should never be seenUnless there’s a colour in between Oh, darn, it’s the poor schmuck being questioned so that’s OK. Tess

      Like

  4. Quick–book a flight to Bora Bora!

    Like

  5. Loved it! Poor guy, trying to do the right thing. Just goes to show…

    Like

  6. No good deed goes unpunished, eh? Loved this 😉
    Red.

    Like

  7. Bravo!

    Bravo!

    Seriously, this was fabulous. This felt like an entire chapter in a novel I can’t put down. Loved how much you packed into this little gem of a story.

    WoW.

    Wickedly wonderful writing!

    Like

Some things in life are complicated. Let's keep it simple.

