How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

What is my What?

28 Comments


How many passwords (or codes) do you have? Remember you must have a different and unique one for every account. I understand some of the reasons for them are as follows:

  1. Debit card
  2. Banking online
  3. Facebook login
  4. Twitter login
  5. LinkedIn login
  6. E-bill account for cable/internet/phone provider
  7. E-bill account for heat, hydro and water
  8. E-bill account for mortgage or rent
  9. Blog login
  10. Possibly another blog login
  11. E-mail account 1
  12. E-mail account 2
  13. E-mail account 3
  14. E-Bay account
  15. Paypal account
  16. Amazon account
  17. Another bookstore account
Microsoft Clipart

Microsoft Clipart

Seems like yesterday, I had to memorize telephone numbers, but only a few because not everyone had a phone. If really stuck, a directory assistance operator looked up the number when I asked, free of charge. The friend list grew. A pocket-sized personal address book became popular. Everyone’s information found their way inside with the help of a pen and my little hand.

Later, cell and cordless phones came along which allowed entering all my nearest and dearest friends’ numbers into an electronic phone book on my personal unit. Of course, I didn’t need to remember anymore since the phone directory did it for me. I scrolled through the names and hit the send button. The phone was smart. It did, and still does, the dialing.

I’m not sweet sixteen anymore and my memory isn’t as sharp as it used to be. Some days I can hardly remember what day it is, or my name, without checking the nametag on my shirt. (Yes, the nametag. You can steal this tip if you like. I share it—no charge—and you aren’t required to rattle off any combination of passwords to get it.)

Words, letters or numerals of assorted and distinctive anything, let alone a dozen or so passwords, I’m simply too tired to remember. Why is it when this is supposed to be the time of my life, I am burdened with this information overload? I’m told not to check the little box that asks if I want my PC to remember a password. Of course, I don’t click it, because I’m afraid of creepy cyberspace creatures prowling around inside my computer, snooping around. For the life of me I cannot understand why they might want to.

I’m ready for the electronic fingerprint or eye-ball analysis or whatever, so I’m able to get on with it and not fumble around trying to remember which password is for what.

Give me a break!

Author: Let's CUT the Crap!

I'm getting a little LONG in the tooth and have things to say about---ouch---AGEing. I believe it's certainly a state of mind but sometimes it's nice to hear that you're NORMAL. I enjoy reading by the truckload. I'm a grandma but I don't feel OLD although I'm not so young anymore. My plan is to stick it out as long as I can on this lovely planet and only will leave it kicking and screaming!

28 thoughts on “What is my What?

  1. I feel you on this one. I have more than 25 just for WP sites. xxx

    Like

  2. I finally wrote them down in a book. I know you are not supposed to do that…but hey I am a rule breaker from way back.

    Like

  3. It’s a nightmare isn’t it! I change mine regularly too because I have good reason to be paranoid about it (don’t ask!). I do write them down, but I write them in a kind of code so that if I lost the notes it would be meaningless to anyone else, sometimes I’m not clear what I meant either with them! Future generations will find my notebook and will spend years trying to unlock the codes thinking there will be some secret hidden meaning in there!

    Like

  4. As well as all the usual personal stuf I have another 8-10 work related passwords and pins to remember, when did the world get so crazy?

    Like

  5. I hear you Tess!!!
    The only numbers I really remember are close family – the rest is in my gorgeous phone. And I’ve taken to keeping a note with all the passwords and user names I have to remember, but I’ve tried to keep everything somewhat similar – otherwise I’ll just be completely stumped!!
    The eyeball thing works for me 😉

    Like

  6. They’re a nightmare, Tess, aren’t they?
    I used to use the same password for everything, it was never written down anywhere, and only I knew it… and then I realised that even though that was the case, the company / service I had the password with would also have known the password (although possibly encrypted) so I had to change every single one of them… I can remember most, but not all. Sometimes I forget the ones I use regularly. And, like you, I also forget the day of the week… it’s all fun! 😀
    Hope you have a good weekend!

    Like

    • Yes, I forgot about the workplace. I should have added those too but I don’t work anymore so whoosh, out the window those went. Still, it’s bad enough just with personal accounts. I thought I heard of something or other that is / was going to make this easier but can’t recall what that’s about. Nice of you to comment, Tom. Thank you.

      Like

  7. I finally also had to write them all down after a couple of my email accounts were hacked. After that I increased the complexity of the passwords and now they’re even harder to remember! These are just the essential ones, remembering the one off passwords for various websites is impossible.

    Like

  8. Unique for every account? Umm.
    The number of passwords one has nowadays really only means everyone writes them down somewhere…

    Like

  9. Forget the password flap, Tess, I’m going to go right now and sew my name in all my clothes!

    Like

  10. This is why I have 5 standard passwords. Remembering which I used where, painful but at least I only have 5.

    I feel you on this one Tess, I do.

    Like

  11. If you use chrome go to apps and add this “Keeper web app” to it

    Like

  12. Oh gosh, I completely empathise! I just had an idea – to use your old pocket book in another way … Maybe …? Big smiles to you 🙂

    Like

  13. I agree it’s a real pain, I often can’t remember which password to use and end up trying them all until I hit the jackpot 🙂

    Like

  14. and you can’t even write them down on anything because then when the fraud person empties your bank account the bank will say it’s your fault!

    Like

  15. Boy, do I get this, Tess. I have so many different places that require passwords. Basically, unless I get lucky, with the exception of a few well-used accounts (like wordpress), I have to reopen and reset every account before I can log into this or that.

    Like

Some things in life are complicated. Let's keep it simple.

