How the Cookie Crumbles

Life in the fast and slow lanes after SIXTY-FIVE

China Blues

129 Comments


I’m back. Sort of. Just dropped in to say hi to all my awesome buddies. Thank you for your endearing ‘miss you’ notes.

 ^-^

Arrived home 9:30 Sunday night. Too wired for bed, I emptied my luggage and threw in a load of laundry. I’d been up since 6:00 a.m. and failed to sleep for the entire 14-plus-hour air hop to Chicago.

The connection to Toronto was approximately three hours, but baggage retrieval, re-checking of same, new tickets, security checks and processing gobbled up most of that time. To ramp up my angst for Home Sweet Home, a game of change the gate and delay boarding began. My throat had begun to bother me and my tummy played the queasy dance. Great.

The okay to embark came at last. A number of priority boarders arrived late and held up the rest of us. Once seated on the plane, we waited. And waited. The announcement from the cockpit gave me pause. The plane needed to be fueled and the fellow responsible wasn’t answering the call. They couldn’t find him.

Time waits for no man? Are you kidding? We wasted time waiting for a man to pump fuel into the plane so we could make it to Toronto. Not my words, but words from the man in whose hands my life waited.

We flew the skies with two wings, a full tank and late. Bless us everyone.

Toronto airport is humungous. Sue, my travelling companion, and I, must have walked ten miles to the baggage pickup with not a washroom in sight.

Our booked limo driver would only wait 90 minutes no matter why a plane might be delayed. We rushed to find the proper location. She hadn’t arrived yet but did within minutes.

  ^-^

IMG_0790

When I finally fell into bed, I lay dead to the world for two days. With throat burning and sinuses raging, I managed to waken to the call of Nature and filled up my water glass and me again and again. My kitty, Lady G., draped herself over my shoulder the whole time. I think she likes me.

Day three, my face ready to explode, I clawed through my drug drawer to medicate. Past due dates were years old (the oldest 2008), but I unearthed a pack of Advil Cold and Sinus tablets with a 2015 date. Back to bed I crawled and another day and night lost.

I’m here in spirit, still sneezing down the house. My sinuses are better, but gushing like Niagara Falls. My brain is on lock down.

Just saying hi. Back soon.

Author: Let's CUT the Crap!

I'm getting a little LONG in the tooth and have things to say about---ouch---AGEing. I believe it's certainly a state of mind but sometimes it's nice to hear that you're NORMAL. I enjoy reading by the truckload. I'm a grandma but I don't feel OLD although I'm not so young anymore. My plan is to stick it out as long as I can on this lovely planet and only will leave it kicking and screaming!

129 thoughts on “China Blues

  1. Love the name of your cat. 😂😊

    Like

  2. You might enjoy knowing how she came by that name. I had to leave her at the animal shelter till I picked up the cat carrier at home. My daughter was driving, my two grand daughters and I talked about the cat being so different from any I’d seen before. The little one was around five and bless her little heart, she thought we were making fun of the cat. “She can’t help the way she looks, she was born that way.” My daughter and I looked at each other and bellowed Lady Gaga’s new song, “Born This Way.” I knew that’s what we had to call my kitty. -D 😀

    Like

Some things in life are complicated. Let's keep it simple.

