How the Cookie Crumbles

Life in the fast and slow lanes after SIXTY-FIVE

News Flash

73 Comments


I don’t want anyone to think I’ve suddenly stopped commenting on your blogs. First comment I clicked Reply on this morning disappeared. I tried again. Evidence of my presence is by Like only. That worked. A couple of blogs welcomed my comment as always. The rest not. Why do some (too few) work and others not?

Does anyone know what this is about? Yesterday, WP seemed fine. Is anyone else experiencing a similar problem?

It’s been suggested my comments may be in your Spam.

 

Thank you Microsoft clipart

Thank you Microsoft clipart

 

Author: Let's CUT the Crap!

I'm getting a little LONG in the tooth and have things to say about---ouch---AGEing. I believe it's certainly a state of mind but sometimes it's nice to hear that you're NORMAL. I enjoy reading by the truckload. I'm a grandma but I don't feel OLD although I'm not so young anymore. My plan is to stick it out as long as I can on this lovely planet and only will leave it kicking and screaming!

73 thoughts on “News Flash

  1. I haven’t had that problem yet. I hope whatever it is gets fixed fast for you!

    Like

  2. I am having three annoying problems with WP: 1) Although I have selected the traditional dashboard, it keeps reverting back to the new one when I try to update. 2) My reader freezes up and I have to exit WP and reload to do anything. 3) My picture galleries freeze up my page and do not carousel properly. Help! Something tricky is going on behind the scenes and this has been going on a couple of weeks.

    Like

    • I’ve had both problems except the first and as I say that I wonder if I’m not one in the ‘section’ that’s being updated and will end up with who knows what new soon. I always hate when it’s happens I’m posting and nothing works.

      BTW, check your Spam for my comments if you haven’t seen any lately.

      Like

  3. Luckily, all seems to be working for me, but I know other bloggers have had similar issues in the past. Usually my issue is excruciatingly slow internet speed, which is not a WordPress problem!

    Like

  4. HI Tess. As you can tell I’m horribly behind again, I haven’t managed to post yet (hope to today) since last week and I’m trying to catch my emails as they come in as I work ‘off blog’ for now. So caught this right away. I’ve had this problem on and off as you know and I don’t know why WP does this. Hopefully this comment will come through. Let’s hope it clears up soon. Sorry for the hassle though, it’s such a pain when that happens 😦

    Like

  5. Maybe your comments are being sent to spam. You could email the blogger and ask them to look for you there. And then rescue you. 🙂

    Like

  6. Sometimes it is the browser fault.. out of date ones mostly.. good luck

    Like

  7. I had problem – sometimes could not comment on wp so copy/paste to comment as facebook. Sometimes likes not working either. It was like this for two months but I think wp finally fixed this as many others same problem.

    Like

  8. I haven’t had precisely that problem, Tess, but WP is slow about noting the ‘likes’…or sometimes they never get posted. I guess we get what we pay for!

    Like

  9. I haven’t noticed that but it seems WordPress is always changing (or ‘enhancing’) something and since those of us who utilize the free blogging service are the guinea pigs for the ‘paid’ subscribers (the people who pay for enhanced services, etc.) we’re the ones who end up ‘testing’ any new features / changes before they’re rolled out to the paying customers. It’s a pain, but it’s the price we pay to be able to blog for free!

    Like

  10. Hmm perhaps in spam as Carrie said. I’m having trouble with the new post set up, having to revert to the old each time. What can we do, we are at the hands of the WP gods. I don’t think I’ve missed your comments, but I shall check my spam just in case 😳

    Like

    • This problem just started this morning. I logged out hopping something might tip in my favor but it did not. I might be in the next group getting a new WP rollout.

      BTW, check your Spam for my comments if you haven’t seen any lately.

      Like

  11. It’s happened with me that I couldn’t like or comment and then it somehow rebooted and was okay.

    Like

  12. Sometimes WordPress seems a bit weird and off. I’ve been ok today though.

    Like

  13. What browser do you use? It is often connected with your settings about cookies.

    Like

  14. Yes I had that, when a new WP update went up, your comments end up in spam on the sites I think.

    Like

  15. I haven’t encountered a problem to date. I hope you are able to sort it out.

    Like

  16. Yes, I had that problem a couple of weeks ago. Then after first not posting my comment WordPress decided I was “Anonymous” and posted my comment. Sometimes WordPress does weird things–I always seem to have some issue when I put up a new post.

    Like

  17. I have blogs with both free and paid WP. They have different problems, but overall am quite happy with what I get for free. I’ve never had the problem you describe, but my computer is a monster (tons of power, RAM, two monitors). My usual solutions that work half the time: 1) close the internet and reopen, 2) try a different browser for a few days, 3) reboot.

    Like

    • Thanks, Jacqui. It’s beginning to sound like a new roll-out by WP. I’ve been sent an email and constructed note to send to WP just to stay on top of thing.
      What a wonderful community. I got all warm and fuzzy after I sent out my note this morning and all the comments returned. Nothing like sharing the L.o.v.. ❤ ❤

      Like

  18. Sorry — that’s a frustrating nuisance. The same happens to me from time to time, particularly if i’m not on my home computer. Here’s a big hug — hope that helps! 😀

    Like

  19. Hi Tess, The only WP thing that I’ve had happening for comments is that halfway through writing some comments, the screen freezes and I can’t continue typing or posting the comment. That p….. me off in a big way. 😉 But i haven’t had the same issue you are mentioning. Miss you at Veggies…though. 😦

    Hugs, G

    Like

  20. Hi Tess,
    You need to write http://akismet.com/contact/
    add this comment to describe what is going on “My comments are going to spam”
    They will help you out. They usually straighten it out in a couple of days.

    Liked by 1 person

  21. I continue to learn about WordPress – still haven’t figured it all out!!!

    Like

  22. I’ve been finding many bloggers comments in spam. I have been no idea why. I’m also feeling like it is very sloggy.

    Like

    • Last Friday my WP was slower than molasses in January–in the Arctic.
      I thought my problem was resolved because I just comments on a couple blogs and they didn’t vanish. Now they’re doing it again.
      Another blogger told me to contact the Spam protection people and they contacted me right away. Now I don’t know what’s up.

      Like

      • I hope they resolve it. It seems like everything feels amiss here in WP land. I don’t know enough about the technicalities of everything to even venture a guess. But I have noticed it just isn’t the ‘same’ this past week or so.

        Like

  23. Hmm. No problems here, though if there is a rollout of something new I guess it’s only a matter of time. *sigh*

    Like

  24. Nice of you to mention this Tess, but no, I haven’t had problems I know about. (with technology I always leave myself room in an answer!)

    Like

  25. Your comments have always come through fine. Maybe a weird temporary glitch, as WordPress is wont to have.

    Like

  26. I’ve been having some issues lately – my comment would “freeze” and I couldn’t type anymore, comment would ‘vanish’ or simply not post (and not tell me it didn’t post). Sounds like it’s not just me after all.
    … and to think I was blaming my iPad :/

    Like

  27. What the others said and Cee Neuner. Comments are probably being blocked by Akismet which they can remove if you contact them via the link Cee Neuner provided. You also might be leaving comments on blogs with extra high moderation settings and they are catching you as well. Good luck!

    Like

  28. There’s often little blips, the one I get is people I follow disappearing from my reader 😦

    Like

  29. I haven’t had the problems you’re referring to, but I am quite underwhelmed about the “new and better” new posting option. After having tried to work with it, I have given up. I’m back to the “classic” option. WP’s definition of “better” needs to be revised. I’m just hoping that they don’t take away the classic option, and force everyone to accept the “new and better” one.

    Like

  30. I had that a while ago where everywhere I posted comments, they disappeared into spam, I had to contact WordPress in the end. I did notice a “Like” from you on my sugarness post yesterday or the day before (can’t remember!) and then thought it was unusual because you usually leave a comment too, so I’m going to check if there’s a comment in spam…if there isn’t and you did actually just click Like then you’re going to feel bad now! 😉

    Like

  31. Hi, yup I actually received a couple of your comments in my Spam. No idea why. I selected “Not Spam” and off they went to the right place.
    I always welcome your comments and likes, I’m really appreciative that you take the time and energy to do it. Thank you 🙂

    Like

Some things in life are complicated. Let's keep it simple.

