How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

100-Word Challenge for Grownups – Week #172


To join, click below:

https://jfb57.wordpress.com/2015/03/23/100-word-challenge-for-grown-ups-week172/

…when the daylight returned the king was dead…+ 100 words

100wcgu-72

Talk of War

“I forbid it!” Teeth clenched, the queen stomped from the darkening window.

“Forbid? You’ll do as I say. Romp across the country all you like, the boy stays.”

She spun to face him and thrust a crimson, talon-like nail at her husband. “The talk of war puts him in danger.”

“Nothing but talk.”

“Have it your way. I’ll save the next king alone.”

The king tossed back his head and roared. “He’s only eleven, Madam. There’s plenty of time.”

“More fool you.” She heaved the great door, elbowing past the startled guards. Don’t worry. Mother will take care of everything.

When the daylight returned, the king was dead.

#

© 2015 All Rights Reserved Tess and How the Cookie Crumbles

Author: Let's CUT the Crap!

I'm getting a little LONG in the tooth and have things to say about---ouch---AGEing. I believe it's certainly a state of mind but sometimes it's nice to hear that you're NORMAL. I enjoy reading by the truckload. I'm a grandma but I don't feel OLD although I'm not so young anymore. My plan is to stick it out as long as I can on this lovely planet and only will leave it kicking and screaming!

Comments are closed.