How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

Zhongshan (continued)

51 Comments


Through the window of our room on the 21st floor, the view of the Pearl River was spectacular. Still in daylight, I spotted three cranes straight ahead, two short, one under construction and the third directly across from our full wall window.

A lot of rooftops had water gardens with fish, a zigzag walkway over the water, a Pagoda in the center on another walkway and an old-style Chinese house with a fenced and bricked, L-shaped veranda affair at one side of the house. Couldn’t guess its use. Lots of fans and air conditions, another bricked patio, some with organized, potted gardens and others bare, but swept clean. On the far right, I made out an old style boat on the Pearl River.

We were again joined by the French group during dinner. Afterwards we learned The English Group Eight would no longer travel solo. Beginning the next morning and for the remaining days of our tour, we were to share the French bus and tour guide.

 Dinner:

  • Sauces: ketchup, hot pepper, chili paste, soy sauce, sour cream and chili sauce
  • Spare ribs
  • Sliced pork
  • Egg pancake
  • Pork with celery and carrots
  • Sweet and sour pork
  • Eggplant
  • Bacon (boiled) with celery, red peppers and snow peas
  • Rice with sliced green onions and egg whites
  • Baby Bok Choy
  • Apple strudel (in disguise)
  • Fruit plate: sliced watermelon, cantaloupe, grape tomatoes

People gathered around in the lobby to check e-mail before calling it a day. Once again, Internet was available in the lobby only. This is the spectacular chandelier in the lobby

IMG_0694

There was a Starbucks Coffee Shop off the lobby, which opened to an outside patio. Room Service wine was 38 Yuan / about $6.30 USD per glass. A bottle, however cost 268 Yuan / about $44.65 USD.

Our room once more had a glass-walled bathroom with a pull down blind. This setup was still a mystery. Why have glass if you need the blind? Why not a regular wall instead? Not one of our tour guides gave us a straight answer when asked, which only made the whole setup even more odd.

Sue manually pulled down the shade for privacy. As we sat on our beds reading around 8:00 p.m., the whirl of a motor startled us and the shade rose. What? After playing with the buttons panel on the wall, success at last. Five minutes later, the shade rose again. Upon a second investigation, I noticed there were three buttons. If the bottom button meant down, the top one meant up, the middle one must mean hold. Down. Hold. Success! No more musical blind.

This was only a one-night stay. Bags were placed outside our doors by 10:00 p.m. and ready downstairs for the next morning’s departure at 7:45 a.m. Why not bring our bags downstairs in the morning ourselves? Anyone confused yet?

~ * ~

Next on May 1, Zhongshan to  Zhuhai

For more related posts, click on China tab at the top of the page

© 2015 All Rights Reserved Tess @ How the Cookie Crumbles

Author: Let's CUT the Crap!

I'm getting a little LONG in the tooth and have things to say about---ouch---AGEing. I believe it's certainly a state of mind but sometimes it's nice to hear that you're NORMAL. I enjoy reading by the truckload. I'm a grandma but I don't feel OLD although I'm not so young anymore. My plan is to stick it out as long as I can on this lovely planet and only will leave it kicking and screaming!

51 thoughts on “Zhongshan (continued)

  1. Great photos Tess! 🙂

    Like

  2. Super photos. Lotta pork on that menu! I hope the tourguide on the French bus will be more courteous and that you all weren’t treat like children…

    Like

  3. What a spectacular view that must’ve been. And the meal looks great. Oh, and my husband would be thrilled to know there are Starbuck’s even in China.

    Like

  4. Enjoyed this. Got a kick out of the blind story.

    Like

  5. You really have to be a problem solver to travel. Nothing simple about that shade, Tess.

    Like

  6. Really enjoyed the photos, Tess. How’d you like to clean that light. I’d be nervous standing under it, lol. 🙂

    Like

  7. What a nice hotel! The meal looked and sounded the best yet. I was wondering about the mirrors and if it has something to do with their superstitions…

    Like

  8. So different from what I would expect in China. I’d want to see the old China, the villages and mountains, the ancient pagodas and gardens. The modern buildings are ugly, IMHO. Tho I like the globe chandelier. I can see that a tour makes every choice for you, even when to set out your luggage!

    Like

  9. Wow Tess, what a magnificent view you had! That must have been a thrill. Interesting, but still pretty chandelier too. Hugs! 😀

    Like

  10. I’m confused about the bags, but both awed and terrified by the view.
    Cool shade action too. 🙂
    And once again, I now want Chinese food, I’ll blame you because it never would have occurred to me otherwise. lol 😉
    Hope you have a relaxing evening and a lovely weekend. 🙂
    Big hugs. 🙂

    Like

  11. How interesting! The food looked delicious and that chandelier is spectacular. It reminded me of a Chihuly piece. Was it?

    Like

  12. That chandelier was gorgeous. The see thru bathrooms ANYWHERE in the world make no sense to me. I’m curious why the groups have been traveling parallel all of this time, now they will join???

    Like

  13. I love how you list sauces first. Precisely how I think. But what is an egg pancake?

    Like

  14. A pull down blind for teasing honeymooners? Hope the French were good traveling companions.

    Like

  15. I’m confused about the bags too. out your door at 10 p.m.? so, did you carry your jammies and toothbrushes with you separately on the bus? I loved the blind story too. the things one learns whilst traveling 🙂

    Like

  16. Lovely hearing about your trip, I wouldn’t like putting my bags out so early, when I would still have things to pack in the morning, Plus I’d be asking who has access to them all night? Don’t know how you managed.

    Like

  17. Still makes me feel sad that somewhere like that is so built up. I get more and more sad about that sort of thing, the older I get.

    Like

  18. Reblogged this on Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life and commented:
    I am several weeks into this wonderful tour of China courtesy of Tess Karlinski and this week, automatic bathroom blinds, luggage mysteries and magnificent chandaliers.

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Impressed by the chandelier, although the hotel arrangements and the blinds seem challenging to say the least. Yes, I also wonder what the sharing with the French will bring. Thanks Tess!

    Like

  20. Wow Tess, this is quite grand. Gorgeous pictures! Blind story was funny. How about the air? Is it clear during the day?

    Like

    • Yes, the blinds were strange.
      Except for one or two young girls with masks in Beijing and Shanghai, I did not experience any bad air or smog. The masks these girls /women wore were more like fashion statements: pink / black / white eyelet fabric with ruffled lace. My girlfriend and I came prepared with masked but didn’t need them.

      Liked by 1 person

  21. That dinner looks so yummy.

    Could it be that glass is cheaper than drywall?

    Like

  22. Electric blinds, get you! 🙂

    Like

  23. Tess, the glass wall with a blind would have confused me as well. I understand that when used in small spaces that glass can seem less restrictive, but I draw the line when it comes to the loo. There’s nothing that I do there that needs an audience. And you’re right, if you need a blind to cover the glass, then why use glass at all? Strange stuff. ~James

    Like

  24. The chandelier is amazing, great photo Tess. The problem with staying in smart hotels is that everything extra like wine is exorbitantly priced to match, it does look lovely though. When I did a tour of Turkey the leader said the bags needed to be outside so the coach could be loaded early and we could get on the road quicker.

    Like

  25. An amazing photo of the hotel lobby and the chandelier, Tess. I’ve never understood why anyone would have/want a glass walled bathroom ;-/

    Like

  26. Sometimes those wind up blinds are perforated with see through slots, which offers virtually no privacy at all – defies all logic! The glass walls are pointless really, but quite the trend in China and Thailand, Vietnam etc. your pics are great!

    Like

  27. What a view! The room also seemed quite nice. I am interested in how the combination of tour groups worked since the languages are different, but I will wait to see in your next installment. I so enjoy these Tess! The food looks quite good, though to heavy on the pork side for me.

    Like

  28. Beautiful chandelier. I don’t get the motorized blind thing either… I want a WALL. 😀

    Like

    • They have these kinds of bathrooms in a lot of the hotels we stayed in. Some had Venetian blinds (yes, you read that correctly), some had pull drapes like in hospitals and now this motorized blind. The strange thing is none of the tour guides gave a straight answer. 😮

      Liked by 1 person

  29. Another interesting day. A glass walled bathroom???

    Like

  30. Hi Tess,
    This was such an interesting post! The chandelier was stunning, and your photo captured that. The blinds in the bathroom piqued my curiosity, all the more so because your guides were not forthcoming about it. At the Westin on Maui there is a wall of sitters between the the spa bath and the bedroom, which I can understand. Even if you aren’t going to have a romantic jacuzzi and jump right into bed from the bath, it opens up the bath to sky and ocean views. But a glass wall seems sort of strange.
    Thanks for another fun trip to China!

    Like

    • We had encountered these glass bathroom walls before. The first one had a Venetian blind you might open, close, or pull up. Other had pull curtains like around a hospital bed and this one had a top-of-the-line motorized and ‘scheduled’ blind.

      Indeed, it was odd none of the guides told us anything more interesting than, “You can watch TV from the bath.” O–kay.

      Drat, I can’t remember but after I came back from this trip, I read about a bunch of senior who had traveled to (?) In their hotel room was a glass box in the middle of the room for showering. Fact is stranger than fiction?

      Like

  31. that chandelier looks super cool 🙂

    Like

  32. Love the sound of those water gardens and the chandelier is beautiful. Very strange about the glass wall though…hmmmmm… Still so fascinating this 🙂 ❤ 🙂

    Like

  33. That was clearly a peekaboo blind for exhibitionists. 🙂

    Like

  34. I want that chandelier! Your trip is a great vicarious adventure for me. Thanks!

    Like

  35. Some of the quirks you mention sound really strange. It definitely gives your trip a little mystery. I guess Helen is gone, since you are sharing tour guide with the French group. Thanks for letting us live vicariously through you. 🙂

    Like

  36. Yes, Helen will be gone. She wasn’t that helpful at all. No spoilers. I cannot say more at the moment. 🙂

    Like

  37. Tess, it’s never too late to consider becoming a travel writer. 🙂 And, hmm, apple streudel in disguise, lol. 🙂

    Like

  38. ~{~_*}~~ So a.r.e. YOU. ❤ ❤

    Like

Some things in life are complicated. Let's keep it simple.

