How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

Rosehips and the Good Ship

71 Comments


Forecast: 12°  Celsius and more rain. Actual: brief drizzle, mean, rough winds.

First stop: Photographer’s Lookout at Norris Point for a fifteen-minute photo opportunity. Across the water, we had a view of the World Heritage Site, Gros Morne Park and tablelands.

Devil’s roses or rosehips brought over from Devon by English fishermen. They grow everywhere and in abundance. In full bloom, their aroma is amazing. I first learned of ‘hips and haws’ at blogger, Julias Place.

From Bonne Bay, we took a two-hour boat ride. A crew member helped us on board. When my turn came, the sailor said, “We’ll need to confiscate your bag, ma’am.”

IMG_1717

I almost choked. My knees folded. Wasn’t I an innocent tourist in parts far from home? Darn if he wasn’t pulling my leg. He laughed and laughed even as he helped the person on after me. Humor in Newfoundland is visual. That’s their philosophy of life. They like to have fun or they’ll go nuts.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

With the aid of a bullhorn, another crew member explained about the rock formations we passed (the photos above). The angry wind thrashed and ate his words. Soon we put up our hoods and abandoned the supplied binoculars we used to better view the striations in the rock. One by one, we weather-beaten tourists disappeared into the bowels of the boat.

Inside, it was one basic room with rows of folding chairs surrounded by windows to watch the shoreline. A while after we were inside, rain trickled down the windows off and on. At the bar, hot chocolate and rum were on offer for $7.00 CAD. Cost be darned. I bet every person lined up. Some even a second time. They should have called that hot drink ‘heaven’ or ‘divine.’ I’ve forgotten the real name.

IMG_1725

While we warmed up, information about the surrounding water and tiny village continued. The captain came down to perform the Screeching in Ceremony. We swore allegiance to Newfoundland and acquired an Order of Screechers certificate. Only one person was required to kiss the cod for all of us.

“Good. Now that you are citizens, you have to pay taxes to Newfoundland.”

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Wait a minute. The guy playing the squeeze box was the captain. There were only three crew members. Who’s driving the boat?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X36gX0njZPQ

Getting Screeched.  Credit GypsyNester

* * *

Next on March 18th – Discovery Center and Lunch

© 2015 Tess @ How the Cookie Crumbles. All Rights Reserved.

For more related posts, click on Newfoundland / Labrador tab at the top of the page

Author: Let's CUT the Crap!

I'm getting a little LONG in the tooth and have things to say about---ouch---AGEing. I believe it's certainly a state of mind but sometimes it's nice to hear that you're NORMAL. I enjoy reading by the truckload. I'm a grandma but I don't feel OLD although I'm not so young anymore. My plan is to stick it out as long as I can on this lovely planet and only will leave it kicking and screaming!

71 thoughts on “Rosehips and the Good Ship

  1. I want to go to sea now…looks lovely. Thank you so much for sharing, makes me want to sing and dance. 🙂

    Like

  2. I might as well join you. Nobody’s looking right. I don’t want you to look bad. :/

    Like

  3. It sounds like a fascinating place, Tess. All the pictures are great, but that view is just breathtaking. Thanks for bringing us along! Huge hugs. 😀 ❤

    Like

  4. How fun and what a beautiful place. Nature’s lush best. 🙂

    Like

  5. Hahahahahahahahahahahaha! 🙂 I love the humor! And the fun. And who is kissing the fish????

    Like

  6. Laughing, it is so beautiful though!

    Like

  7. This one had me laughing out loud. I can see these guys playing while the boat just meanders on it’s way. Good one Tess.

    Like

  8. I enjoyed this. So, who was driving the boat?

    Like

  9. Hilarious Tess and what’s wrong with cod kissing? Did you really mean the roses came from Devin or did you mean Devon, where I live?

    Like

  10. You should have hit the joker with your handbag. He would think twice about using that gag again!

    Like

  11. Love to know who was driving the boat.

    Like

    • Psst. It was on autopilot. Ack!
      There wasn’t any traffic on the water and we must have been set to travel in a straight line but logic had nothing to do with my thinking when I realized the captain was downstairs entertaining us. 😀 😀

      Like

  12. You’re certainly taking us for a great ride, Tess but feel a bit seasick now. We have loads of Rose-hip shrubs in our garden – the birds love them. Rose – hip – good for arthritis you know (just thought I’d mention it – perhaps the English fishermen knew what they were in for with all that rough cold weather)

    Like

    • I’ve had rose-hip tea and used to love it but I had too much and too often many years ago. Should try it again. I had no idea they would be so BIG. From the tea package, I had the impression they were smaller, more like blueberry size. The seeds were brought over from England and now they have an abundance of them growing everywhere. Lots of good things to make from them though. Yum. ❤ ❤
      😀

      Like

  13. Now you cans say you got screeched! I think my parents did too when they went for their 50th wedding anniversary. I am sure those drinks were very welcome even at the high price.

    Like

  14. Fabulous photos! Sorry the weather wasn’t kinder to you. But…kissing a cod!! Yikes! Loving the trip though 🙂

    Like

  15. You got screeched ??? So much fun in this post. And so many cultural references. The pics really took us there. Love it. But, really, who was driving that boat ??

    Like

    • Ha ha. The whole trip felt like we were together with OLD friends. They have a saying, “If you talk with a Newfoundlander for five minutes, you have a friend for life.” Even the driver was new to our tour guide, but you’d never know it. They gave the impression they’d known each other forever.
      Autopilot was driving the boat. Eek. We were in empty water, moving slow and in a straight line but it didn’t feel like that when I realized the Captain had left his post to entertain US. o_O

      Liked by 1 person

  16. I loved reading this as always, sorry about the weather! 🙂
    Lovely photos!

    Like

  17. That cold blustery boating adventure wouldn’t have been half the fun without the affectionate humor of the crew. Would like to know what is that large, horizontal thrust into the hillside above the village? Looks like a concrete wall forgot its highway and ambled up into the forest.

    Like

    • I think that’s a bridge / road, Bonnie. Sometimes you’d see cars come out of the trees which looked suspended on a piece of road and then disappear.
      The humor of the crew kept us in stitches. They can make anything funny. ❤ 😀

      Like

  18. oops – meant “…large horizontal SLAB thrust….”

    Like

  19. I love rosehip. Uhmm, I wonder how well the bush would do here where I live.

    Like

    • I wonder. I was doing some Googling about rosehips and came across some gardening tip. Go look. Only the outside of the fruit is edible. Inside there’s there’s this thick pulpy matter. They were much bigger than I’d imagined. I picked some and put them in my pocket. BIG mistake. 😀

      Like

  20. So that’s what a rosehip looks like!!! Obviously my knowledge of plants is abysmally poor. I’ve always thought of them simply as Gramma’s Roses … because my Italian grandmother had them in her yard.

    I enjoyed the slideshow of the rock faces from the boat. THIS is what I want to go to NFLD to see … those famous rock walls … and icebergs. Definitely want to go to Iceberg Alley in the spring for icebergs 😉

    Like

  21. I love seeing people who enjoy their work. It makes me want to visit. Thanks for the peek, Tess.

    Like

  22. Taxes to pay and a driverless boat. You do pick some odd excursions Tess.
    xxx Gigantic Hugs xxx

    Like

    • 😀 😀 Oh David, I’m laughing so hard I’m crying again. What’t the point of having an adventure without any ‘adventure?’ Ha ha.
      It’s always my luck. I do everything on the wild side. Nothing to do with me. 😀
      Gigantic Hugs back. XX

      Like

  23. I had no idea rose hips grew so big. They look like fruit on those bushes.

    And I totally understand on the rum and hot chocolate. I’m careful with money, but I’ll pay to get warm. I’m glad you had a great day and didn’t have to kiss the fish. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I pick some and put them in my pocket. Bad move. Before long they were all squished in there.
      I’ll do almost anything for warmth as well. I hate the cold.
      The fish was rubber,but we didn’t know that till the captain pulled it out of the green garbage bag. 😀 😀

      Like

  24. This looks wonderful. I am so jealous!

    Like

  25. You too funny, Tess. Sure you don’t have some Newfoundlander blood of your own? 😉

    Like

  26. Some amazing pictures. I think you misheard: he didn’t say “We’ll need to confiscate your bag, ma’am”. He said, “We need to confiscate the old bag”!!

    Like

  27. Tess if you ever wanted to take on a second career I believe you have found your calling. This is it, travel and then create wonderful tour guides! What a wonderful experience, full of first sights, humor and wonderful pictures to make us all feel what you were feeling.

    Like

    • Thanks so much, Valentine. When I have time for a second career (pshaw–I like retirement too much), I’ll do just that. I’m rotten when it comes to capturing all the historical details, numbers, statistics. I just wanna have fun and seem to notice the ‘regular’ things going on around me. That is just as exciting as taking a trip. ❤ ❤ I'm tickled you enjoy my quirks and continue to come along for the ride. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  28. Sign me up for a hot chocolate and run with you, Tess! Cheers 🙂

    Like

  29. Beautiful photos Tess, and no doubt all that sea air is good for sleeping. But the bag prank, sheesh, I would have swallowed my own heart, lol. 🙂

    Like

  30. Beautiful photos!!!

    Like

  31. Great adventure, Tess. The North Atlantic has it’s own unique look from the buildings, to the beach roses, to the boats, to the color of the sea. Lovely pictures and it sounds like it was a lot of fun 🙂

    Like

  32. Oh god, terrifying. Dad and I visited South Africa and went for a similar boat ride out of Hoot’s Bay. The waves were ridiculous and we were sheltering in the ship when the captain came and joined us. Like you we counted the people in doors and reckoned no one was driving!! It looks beautiful if a tad brisk!

    Like

  33. Does cocoa and rum pair well with cod kissing?

    Like

  34. Thanks so much for taking us with you. The landscape is fantastic and it sounds as if you had fun!

    Like

  35. Getting screeched in…did you all have to screech? I hope not!

    Like

Some things in life are complicated. Let's keep it simple.

