How the Cookie Crumbles

Life in the fast and slow lanes after SIXTY-FIVE

A Quick Update

49 Comments


Dickens is the ginger and Lady Gaga, well, you can guess.

Dickens is the ginger and Lady Gaga, well, you can guess.

Our power went out yesterday and then the internet got snarky. Frustrated, I called it a day. I may not comment on yesterday’s posts as it’s a daily struggle to keep up with the last 12 hours of posts let alone 24. Have I any hair left after yesterday? Read on.

Last week I finished a short two-week course and have two more to complete during the next six weeks. Another beast hungry for my time.

Thank you for your continued support. I hope you understand my exasperation.

P.S.  I wrote a post earlier this morning, but it disappeared. Not only had I fought a spastic page, it scrambled and unscrambled the menu and media bars, ribbons and bars floated over words disallowing access to type, same as last Friday when I posted. At one point, everything disappeared then came back. I saved a draft in a hurry. In the end, it was all for naught. Anyone experience anything like this? I have. Some time ago. It lasted a while and was no more but not this bad.

Author: Let's CUT the Crap!

I'm getting a little LONG in the tooth and have things to say about---ouch---AGEing. I believe it's certainly a state of mind but sometimes it's nice to hear that you're NORMAL. I enjoy reading by the truckload. I'm a grandma but I don't feel OLD although I'm not so young anymore. My plan is to stick it out as long as I can on this lovely planet and only will leave it kicking and screaming!

49 thoughts on “A Quick Update

  1. Oh dear what a frustrating day Tess, put your feet up with a glass of wine and a cat to stroke 🙂

    Like

  2. Maybe late tonight after I catch up. ❤

    Like

  3. Sorry to hear thid! I’ m standibg outside my car, locked out of it. I grsbbed the wrong keys- the ones for valet use. So I feel your pain and frustration, waiting for. AAA….love the kitty pics.

    Like

  4. Oh! Sorry, Tess. I’ve been stuck in the Murphy’s Law universe lately too. I hope everything becomes perfect quickly. Mega hugs.

    Like

  5. I love Dickens and Lady Gaga! Power outages and computer issues can drive you crazy, if you let them. ❤

    Like

  6. Oh, I hate when a post just disappears. I feel your frustration, Tess ❤

    Like

    • Sorry about your keys. At least it’s not winter. Not wet out, is it?
      I’ve locked myself out of my car a couple times with the car running. 😀
      Seems I’m more easily exasperated these days. 😦

      Like

    • Oops. Something happened in Comments and it ended up in answer to you instead of someone else. What a last couple days. Wish I hadn’t typed it directly into WP. Next time, I’ll lasso Word first in case a post decides to vamoose.
      Stopped for gas last Friday. Wanted to use a credit card (for the points). The system was down. We lined up for the ATM. I complained about being forced into the admin charge to used a machine not for my bank. Was told he would waive them. Technology is only good when it works. 😦

      Liked by 1 person

      • I do that now, write my posts in another application, then copy and paste. At least if it disappears from WP I still have the post. Yes, you’re so right, technology is only good when it works :/

        Like

  7. Not going to click “like” on this one. I understand how it goes. Hopefully, tomorrow will be a better day.

    Like

  8. I have not had that happen, but I have heard others complain of it. Hopefully, tomorrow will be better.

    Like

  9. Poor Tess, it’s no fun at all. I hate it when the computer has the heebie-jeebies. I don’t blame you for not dealing with yesterday’s comments, the others soon mount up until you’re working 25/7 and 8 days a week. Just do what you can and try not to pull out more hair. Buy a wig and do that instead.
    xxx Massive Hugs xxx

    Like

  10. Computers!!!!!! Magic 99% black magic!

    Like

  11. Thank you for your update, Tess. That sounds quite frustrating. May everything return to normal for you soon!

    Like

  12. So sorry for all your frustration, Tess. Don’t know if it’s WordPress goofing or just general computer glitches. I learned years ago that the 60 seconds it takes to set up and save a Word Doc is so worth the hours of deflected aggravation. Every article I’ve ever posted is also saved in a file.
    Big hugs to you.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Oh yeah… Disappearing words, disappearing links, disappearing followers, comments being tossed into spam, website loading in layers… Haven’t experienced the scrambling, but frustrations are running high among WP users. When I reported the spam thingy to WP, they replied by explaining how not to have EMAIL go to spam! I’m usually pretty clear and seldom misunderstood, but I’m not a techie and the WP folks don’t seem to understand plain English. I empathize, Tess. As if we don’t have enough to keep us busy… ❤

    Like

  14. So sorry, Tess! Haven’t experienced any of that, however it must be frustrating! Hope everything soon gets back to working order! 💛 Christine

    Like

    • Technology is frustrating when it doesn’t work.
      Stopped for gas last Friday. Forgot I had enough cash. Pulled out a credit card. The cashier said the system was down. I should use the ATM. What a lineup. I said it wasn’t fair I’d have to pay a fee to use their machine. He said he’d waive it. Thank goodness I had enough cash. 😦

      Like

  15. Frustrating to say the least. Cute kitties all cuddled by the fire.

    Like

  16. Sounds like your post got an early start on halloween. I’ve never had that happen. Yet.

    Like

  17. Oh Tess, it seems that so many friends and bloggers are having technical issues for the past week. This full moon has wreaked its havoc on everything in its orbit. Take cover and a breather, and hopefully, ‘this too shall pass’. ❤

    Like

  18. Tess, yes, I have experience technical chaos where nothing I’ve tried has alleviated it. At the time, I gave out a yell, “To h*ll with it!” and literally stood up and walked away from the PC. I didn’t sit in my luxurious chair for three days. When I finally had the nerve to do so, my PC had decided I needed an update for Windows and had restarted the system. The contraption was working much better.

    Like

  19. I hope it all works out eventually and the course goes well. I ended up getting rid of anything not basic on my blog as I started having problems. I tend to write posts that are a bit elaborate in Word, so I always have a copy, but some quick ones I don’t. Fingers crossed and don’t worry about comments

    Like

  20. I fear there are so many gremlins at work right now, I certainly don’t want to attract any of their attention 😉

    Sometimes all I can do is shut off my computer and walk away. At least you have the kitties for therapy 🙂

    Like

  21. Oh dear so frustrating! Check your trash to be sure it didn’t get dumped in there. No need to apologize Tess. Hoping you have smoother days ahead.

    Like

  22. I’ve had that, too, with WordPress. I’ve taken to doing a quick Ctrl+A (to select all) and Ctrl+C (to copy) before saving just in case it throughs everything away. It has saved me at least a few times.

    Like

    • I always write in a Word document first but this time, I planned on a short, quickie post and got it done but… Ugh. Will never, never do that again no matter how short a post.
      Still,all the tossing WP has been giving me, I wonder if I don’t have a bug. Sigh.

      Like

  23. Hope the power stays on Tess… You’re doing good… Love those kitties! ❤

    Like

  24. You sound frazzled, Tess. We’ve had power problems too. Sometimes it’s best to just let the internet stay off and not worry about catching up. WP gets wonky on me every once in a while too. I ignore it and eventually it corrects itself. WP can be a little frustrating at times. ❤

    Like

  25. I’ve never had a draft disappear but have friends who have faced this type of challenge. Sending hugs xx Take your time with returning comments and replies as we understand you are busy. Sending love!

    Like

  26. I thought it was just me.

    Like

  27. I was at the gym today when the power went out. Talk about scary! It came back on soon after…I was thinking, “I guess this is a sign I shouldn’t work out!”

    Stephanie
    http://stephie5741.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

  28. Certainly more scary with power outage at the gym rather than home, but my question is, aren’t we smart enough not to have them anymore? 🙂 ❤

    Like

  29. Ah yes the joys of technology especially for those of us, like me, that are not technologically inspired.
    But you do have two adorable and cute felines!
    Peta

    Like

  30. I get your frustration!! Good for you to express it in your writing. Two Friday’s ago I wrote a post (about my mom) that was difficult and heartfelt. WordPress, in its wisdom, posted ON THE SAME DAY a poem/post I wrote about death and beginnings, that I had no plan in releasing. I was embarrassed, yet all seemed to be okay. But, for the first time in three years, I skipped posting last week. Sometimes, we just need to lean back, relax, and let it all go. :-0

    Like

Some things in life are complicated. Let's keep it simple.

