How the Cookie Crumbles

Life in the fast and slow lanes after SIXTY-FIVE

More St. John’s

51 Comments


As we left the Basilica, the rain eased up enough for a few photo opportunities. I ran across the road to capture this colorful display. You can always tell the end of a trip is near. Lunchtime almost upon us, people dragged their feet, spirits dampened as we boarded the bus.

img_2201b

Five minutes into our ride, the heavens opened up again.

img_2203

Interested parties were dropped off at The Rooms Provincial Art Gallery. Mary and I chose to go back to the hotel with the other rained-out party poopers. This is the last time we were to see Peter, our driver. Those visiting the gallery had to make their own way back to the hotel, a fifteen-minute walk but doable.

https://youtu.be/n-pUgYKLTio

We decided to relax for a while to avoid the lunch rush and wait out the rain. Eating at the Sheraton bound to be pricier than a small restaurant, we decided to grab our already wet umbrellas and hike out. By one o’clock, drizzle still veiled the horizon, but we braved a walk in search of a suitable eatery. Several quaint places were not in our price range. You’ll never guess where we ended up. Tim Horton’s drew us like a magnet, a familiar place just like home.

The chicken salad sandwiches were served on a croissant here: Mary’s choice. I opted for the whole wheat bun like they serve in Ontario. Wish I hadn’t. The bun stale and too hard, hurt my tender mouth.  A friendly policewoman walked past us in a bright yellow raincoat. She recognized us as visitors and chitchatted for a few minutes: where were we from and the usual.

Afterward, drizzle or not, umbrellas up, we checked out a number of stores on Duckworth Street. There are a lot of restaurants on this one street. Downtown_St._John is attractive and Water_Street is the oldest street in North America.

Mary bought a signature, yellow Sou’wester. What a find! She’d always wanted one. Surprise. Surprise. It wasn’t Newfoundland-made. You guessed it: Made in China. She almost changed her mind against buying it.

During our stroll downtown, I took these on a side street perpendicular to Duckworth.

I bet you want to know how all the bright house colors and thus how  Jellybean Row began. The story goes this happened so fishermen could find their homes in the fog. Francis told us a different tale. If you had paint left over from painting your dorie (yellow), you painted your shed, your house etc. Soon the idea caught on. “If you paint your house blue, I’ll paint mine red.”

img_2211

A wonderful treat awaited along our way. A shop where they not only sell chocolate but make it, in the Newfoundland Chocolate Company. Of course, Mary had to go inside though she cannot enjoy the smell of chocolate, she still has a taste for it. After a minute, I’d had enough of the sweet heaviness, like the days of too much perfume in previous years. Decisions. Decisions. When I’m not interested, I am fidgety. Mary could not make up her mind what chocolate to buy. To me, it was all too elegant and artistic to eat. Anyway, I don’t have a sweet tooth.

 

* * *

Next on October 28th–  Tying up loose ends

© 2016 Tess @ How the Cookie Crumbles. All Rights Reserved.

For more related posts, click on Newfoundland / Labrador tab at the top of the page

Author: Let's CUT the Crap!

I'm getting a little LONG in the tooth and have things to say about---ouch---AGEing. I believe it's certainly a state of mind but sometimes it's nice to hear that you're NORMAL. I enjoy reading by the truckload. I'm a grandma but I don't feel OLD although I'm not so young anymore. My plan is to stick it out as long as I can on this lovely planet and only will leave it kicking and screaming!

51 thoughts on “More St. John’s

  1. Interesting how the colors of jellybean row came to be. Didn’t sound like you had too much luck with your meal: hope your mouth has recovered from the hard bread. And boy would I love to see that rain down this way. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Is that a chocolate mermaid? Loved the story of the houses and the paint.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You actually walked past the chocolate store!!?? I love chocolate. . . 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  4. The steepness of that street rivals many in San Francisco – I’ve had the not so great experience of climbing them!

    Liked by 2 people

  5. You are so making me want to travel. I want to see all these amazing sites.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Mmmm, chocolate…Thanks for letting us come along on your journey, always glad to be here. Hope this weekend treats you well. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Outstanding story. Thanks so much for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. It all sounds fun despite the rain! Though the shops sound better than the lunch. I hate it when something you know you like is substandard! I would of loved the chocolate shop!!?

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Those lovely colourful houses :-)… and chocolate. I have a very sweet tooth and chocolate is my downfall :/

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Interesting. There’s something about those street scenes that looks very British (even though we don’t often have those wood paneled fronts on our house) – maybe it’s the rain that makes it look British!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Ah….Tim Horton’s. On the occasions my bagel is stale I am sad, so I share this agony with you. I don’t share the passing up on chocolate though….. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  12. The steel inclines of the town made me think of where I used to live in Michigan. I often wish I still lived there. I like the different colors of the townhouses. I wonder if the people are as varied as their living quarters.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Even for a rainy day, it looks like such a lovely place, Tess. I love the multi colored row houses. (I live in a community of red brick row houses and it’s just an endless see of SAME… No wonder everyone dresses in DC drab.)
    I like the effect the rain gave your second photo. Thanks again fro bringing us along with you. Mega hugs.

    Liked by 1 person

    • H,i Teagan. Yes, Jellybean row is famous everywhere. Nice way to be known if you ask. Make me think of somewhere in San Francisco–most likely something I read about.
      Thank you, regarding the rain photo. I’m quite proud of it too. 🙂 😛 😀

      Like

  14. I would have had to have some chocolate gelato! Glad the rain let up a bit. Love the colourful houses. We have a town with them here in Spain as well. Funny, there is also a chocolate factory in that town!!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Reblogged this on Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life and commented:
    I had a couple of appointments pencilled in for after lunch.. one was a trip through St. John’s Newfoundland with Tess and we have just enjoyed a lunch..(Tess didn’t) and also visited a chocolate factory… I shall be sad to reach the end of this series..Tess you better get your suitcase out again!

    Like

  16. Oooh, I would have enjoyed the chocolate factory though I imagine I, too, would have found it difficult to make my choice.
    Love the colourful houses.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Sounds like a lovely day! I really enjoyed your pictures. Xoxoxo.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. At least the chocolate was made in Newfoundland, lol! And love the jellybean row logic. 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Love the charming colorful houses – but no way could I pass up the chocolate.

    Liked by 1 person

  20. It looks lovely. Like the street although I’m with Noelle on the steepness. Chocolate… I like the story although having visited Bruges I must say there is such a thing as too much chocolate (I’m more of a savoury person myself).

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Lovely! Newfoundland is the only province I have yet to visit (I have two territories as well). This looks like another reason to head that way!

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Wonderful tour = thank you! I love your photo of the rain on the windows – exactly what I’m looking at as I write to you here. And the colored homes – FUN.

    Liked by 1 person

Some things in life are complicated. Let's keep it simple.

