How the Cookie Crumbles

Life and scribbles on the far side of SIXTY-FIVE

Move Over Oprah

42 Comments


I’m too easy—and maybe simple too. The absolute truth is I know I’m easy to please. Maybe not quite that easy, still, it doesn’t take much to make me happy.

When I was much younger, I could never make up my mind about anything—so many choices you see. Also, because anything was possible, I had a problem making up my mind. I drove more than one cashier in the variety store insensible with impatience while I chose penny candy on the occasion I had a quarter to spend. That’s all behind me now. These days, I don’t need much other than the basics. In no particular order, I also enjoy wine, books, a phone and, of course, access to the Internet (which is iffy around here of late).

Now what excite me are the little things.  Allow me to borrow a cliché: Do small things amuse small minds? Nothing’s wrong with my mind; I prefer an uncomplicated life now: quiet and unassuming.

Microsoft Clipart

Microsoft Clipart

Permit me to spill my guts. My latest discovery is the humble can opener. I used to have an electric one in my last house (attached at eye-level over the sink), but when I moved, I decided not to deface my awesome new kitchen cupboards. I stuck it out with an old-fashioned manual opener until it became too blunt, I suppose, and cranking on that useless device made my eyes bleed wrecked my fingers.

I kept forgetting to buy a new one. A few weeks ago, I chucked the rusted old pain-in-the-wrists and bought a new one: Starfit in white; under $10.00; works smooth as butter; slices off the whole top of the can, not just the lid; painless to use—and whisper quiet. It was love at first sight.

Starfit

Starfit

And now, every time I need to open a can—which sad to say isn’t often—I smile and turn pink with pleasure. I pat my new domestic-device-friend and we get the job done.

See what I mean? I’m easy to please, and when I’m happy, I’m over-the-top ecstatic. If only everything in life was this simple. Sigh.

I cannot afford even one of Oprah’s favourite things, but do I care? I prefer the simple life now. Should Oprah want one as well, they can be found anywhere.

< * >

What should you replace but keep putting off?

< * >

Please note:  This is not a paid endorsement. I’m just sharing my enthusiasm.

Author: Let's CUT the Crap!

I'm getting a little LONG in the tooth and have things to say about---ouch---AGEing. I believe it's certainly a state of mind but sometimes it's nice to hear that you're NORMAL. I enjoy reading by the truckload. I'm a grandma but I don't feel OLD although I'm not so young anymore. My plan is to stick it out as long as I can on this lovely planet and only will leave it kicking and screaming!

42 thoughts on “Move Over Oprah

  1. I hate can openers that don’t work. I just ordered one from Amazon.

    Like

  2. Ha! I know what you mean about the simple things. Give me a really good kitchen tool, or something else I use often, and I’m happy. I never got into the electric can opener craze, and, as evidenced by the collection at the thrift store, a lot of people have the same feeling. There they are, all lined up right next to the electric knives. Some things just need to work well and be very uncomplicated. I think I’ll give the Starfit a look-see. Thanks!

    Like

  3. Oprah’s got nothing on this simple little joy. 🙂

    Like

  4. The thing I need to replace is my toaster. I have had it maybe 20 years…things just don’t last…and now I have to toast the bread then turn it upside down and toast the top half.. I want a toaster oven but can’t decide which one to get. There seem to be hundreds to choose from which makes it very difficult.

    Like

  5. I may have to give the Starfit a second look, especially since my aging hand-cranked version hurts my wrists and practically makes my fingers snap off every time I attempt to use it. I keep telling myself “you only use it so often” but my fingers and wrists deserve a bit of a break.

    What should I replace? (besides my can opener, obviously)

    Well, the office chair I use at my computer is probably more than ten years old. The wheels barely roll anymore, the seat is worn out and flat as a pancake, and the hydraulics died a long time ago. It wobbles when I move it, and one of the wheels keeps threatening to jump ship. I suppose I should break down and get a new comfy model, but these days it seems all my pennies find other places to hide, and I keep repeating to myself over and over again … “hey, at least you’re no sitting on a wooden bench.” But, still, a nice new office chair would be dandy.

    Like

  6. I mostly get whatever I need, if it is small. But I have trouble justifying larger expenses, or replacing things that still work well enough. For instance, the metal bar that held the canopy on our porch swing in place snapped under the weight of a rare heavy snow, the year before last. Without the protective covering that shelters the seat, the cushions get wet, leaves and pine needles drop onto the seat, and I need to be more careful about bringing the cushions inside when it rains, which happens a lot in Seattle. But the swing still works just fine, so I don’t expect I will replace it until it starts to rust!

    Like

  7. It seems to me that when it comes to things like can openers, the classics are the best, rather than Oprah’s fancy ones.
    I love things that do their job. I get annoyed with they don’t. I really need to replace my wallet. It’s falling apart. The problem is there are so many out there and I can’t decide.

    Like

  8. I need to replace my baking tins, particularly my muffin tins because they are so old looking, and as I have that second blog which is about cooking, I have to avoid photographing anything still in the tins because they look so bad! The trouble is, they still do the job fine, so I’m reluctant to spend on new ones!

    I get so pleased by simple things that do the job well too!

    Like

  9. Tin openers can be difficult, luckily most tins peel open these days.
    I should be replacing my spectacles but they live in the car as I only use them for driving so I keep forgetting to get my eyes tested!

    Like

  10. I like simple and straightforward, Tess, but lots of it! I really need to get rid of a few things, downsize as it were – but I keep putting that off! I tend to keep hold of things ‘just in case’ I need them…

    Like

    • What is it with youth. Gimmie, gimmie. I want / need more / everything and NOW. These days I need so much less and since I moved almost five years ago am still getting rid of ‘stuff’. Thanks for sharing, Tom. Nice to see you.

      Like

  11. I’m with you, Tess, on it’s the simple things. Love this post!

    Like

  12. I am all for the little things….and little details like your earlier can opener being “attached at eye-level over the sink”. These little things are what make narration, and life indeed delightful, isn’t it?

    Like

  13. My can opener is over ten years old and still works perfectly, it wasn’t a cheap one but wow has it been useful 🙂 Hey have a lovely rest of weekend Tess and be wicked, like me 😉

    Andro xx

    Like

    • Hey there, Gray. Nice to hear from you. Nothing wrong with the right tool for the right job well. Went to the hardware store one day and asked for a paint scraper. The guy asked me what KIND of paint scraper. I was removing paint from my OLD baseboards. What he recommended was simple but so handy and he’s the one who said ‘the right tool for the right job’. I soooo believe that now.

      Like

  14. I too am a devotee of the Starfrit can opener — have been for years. I’ve had electric ones, fancy more expensive types, but they don’t work worth a damn! And you can always count on the Starfrit during a power outage, tornado, ice storm etc. Yup, simple is best! Right on, Tess…

    Like

  15. oh god, just about everything in my house! But especially my back of the door coathanger, with the stand up variety. It’s coming off the wall with the weight of my gazillion winter coats!

    Like

    • Nice to see you. Why IS it we can’t let go. Is it because there’s 15 minutes of usefulness we can drag out of our stuff? With me that might be it. In my family, we never wasted a thing. It didn’t get to be a goner until it WAS a goner.

      Like

  16. I think it’s the simple things that makes life remotely bearable.
    The simple pleasures – much better than anything complicated 😉

    Like

  17. I got the Starfit a few years ago and smile every time I use it. Love your site. You have a way of saying things I would love to. Looking forward to reading more! Chris

    Like

    • Thank YOU, Chris. I’m usually behind the times because I hang on to OLD contraptions until they die. Waste not; want not, right? I’m soooooooo happy you smile like I do when you use your Starfrit.

      Like

  18. I bought a can opener years ago and didn’t like it at all, so when it expired before it’s time I was happy to return to the old hand-held type. The one you bought, however, looks dangerous to me. I am not good with things that require good hand/eye coordination. Yes, the simple life. I’m enjoying it more and more.

    Like

    • I promise, Rebecca, it’s easy on the wrists, grabs the LIP of the can every time and is SMOOTH as butter. This one you lay across the top of the can; slide it till it engages the LIP of the can; compress the arms and turn the ‘crank’. I never had as easy a time as I have with this one. S-M-O-O-T-H. If I can do it, anyone can too. Ask around your friends. Maybe one of them has one. Let them regale you with smiles and happy stories.

      Like

  19. There’s nothing better than a slick can opener!

    Our dog eats a can of green beans every day so I may have to check this beauty out!

    Like

    • The beauty of this one is you lay it across the top of the can, unlike other crank ones. You move it till the teeth grab the LIP. It’s so EASY and works EVERY time, even for me. Like I said, it was love at first sight. If you get one, I’d love to hear how you like it, Jenny.

      Like

  20. I have a can opener similar to yours, I love it and wouldn’t trade it for the world. When I moved this last time I downsized my kitchen, a great amount now I am left with the things I love. Good knifes. Good pots and pans. Some are quite old but I do not care, they do what they were intended to do.

    I need a new office chair. I know I need one I simply don’t feel compelled.

    Like

  21. Maybe it’s a European thing but nearly all tin cans here come with a ring pull now. When faced with one that doesn’t I groan. We do have a clever decapitator just like yours for those rotters!

    Like