How the Cookie Crumbles

Life and scribbles on the far side of SIXTY-FIVE

Hot Flash – Coffee

12 Comments


“What are you doing?”

Microsoft Clipart

Microsoft Clipart

“Stirring the pot, Sis.”

“You dumped your coffee in there?”

Billy rolls her eyes. “Yep. Too strong for me, but great for your gravy.”

“That’s dumb. I never heard of such a thing”

“Trust me. Your guests will beg for more.”

“Why’d I invite you?”

“Taste…”

~ * ~

The word limit for Coffee is 50 words. I used all 50. Check out http://mommasmoneymatters.com/flash-fiction/ for the rules and join us.

Author: Let's CUT the Crap!

I'm getting a little LONG in the tooth and have things to say about---ouch---AGEing. I believe it's certainly a state of mind but sometimes it's nice to hear that you're NORMAL. I enjoy reading by the truckload. I'm a grandma but I don't feel OLD although I'm not so young anymore. My plan is to stick it out as long as I can on this lovely planet and only will leave it kicking and screaming!

12 thoughts on “Hot Flash – Coffee

  1. ALMOST persuades me to put coffee in my stews!

    Like

    • I don’t remember exactly how this works but it’s a small amount of strong coffee. My mother-in-law used instant (ugh). It makes the gravy darker and gives it body but no coffee taste.

      Like

  2. Smile for the day 🙂

    Like

  3. Hope it tasted as good as it sound it might 😉
    Good one Tess!!

    Like

    • Coffee adds a nice body to beef gravy. My mother-in-law used to do it after she removed the roast of beef and prepared the gravy. I haven’t made this for years and cannot recall how it all comes about but now that it’s come up, will make a small roast in crockpot sometime and try it again.

      Like

  4. Taste? Coffee in the gravy? Hmmm, what will the gravy be for Tess, do tell.

    Like

    • Yes, my mother-in-law used to put instant coffee in her roasting pan when she made the gravy after removing a roast of beef. I tried it a couple of times but that was years ago. It gives the gravy body and no it doesn’t taste like coffee. I must try it again sometime but my family doesn’t eat beef anymore. So many complications.

      Like

  5. Genius! Every word perfect!

    Like